Vermont DUI Third Offense
Getting convicted of a third DUI charge in Vermont is a very serious matter as it is one of the few states that considers the offense a felony. The repercussions and penalties for a felony charge are very stiff and often times completely life-altering. A felony charge on your record can cause severe problems with employment and transportation for the rest of your life. Felons also have restricted civil liberties and are not able to own a gun or vote in an election ever again.
A Lawyer Can Increase Your Odds Of Acquittal
If you are facing felony charge for repeat DUIs, it is vital that you find a DUI lawyer who has experience with Vermont DUI laws, especially felony charges, to guide you through the process and fight for your best interest. If you don't, you are risking extreme penalties that will follow you through the rest of your life.
If you're facing a third DUI charge in Vermont, here's what you can expect:
Jail Time/Community Service
Third-time offenders face up to 100 consecutive hours in jail or 400 hours of community service. However, depending on the severity of the case, the state reserves the right to issue a five-year jail sentence. Also, it's important to note that because it's a felony charge, the sentence will be served in prison versus a county jail.
Those convicted of DUI a third time will have a lifetime suspension put on their driver's license. With proof of three years of sobriety from an accredited alcohol counseling program, drivers can apply to have their license reinstated.
There will be an initial fee of up to $2,500. However, court costs, rehabilitation enrollment fees, and many other associated costs should be expected.
Education/ Rehabilitation Programs
Rehabilitation is mandatory.
If you are convicted of a third or more DUI, the state reserves the right to immobilize your car until you have received sufficient alcohol counseling.